"beamy boats"

I admit that I am no expert as far as touring boats. I have a Necky arluk IV that I think is 24.5" wide. It seems to roll easily but I can only compare it to the numerous ww boats I have owned. I would like some input on the ease of rolling between my necky and other narrower boats.

Not just the width

– Last Updated: Jan-31-08 1:59 PM EST –

Hull shape and chining, overall volume compared to the paddler, fit in the cockpit all affect how easily it'll feel like a boat will roll to an individual. Also the other boats to which they are accustomed.

For what it's worth, I increasingly think that there are two discussions here. One is can a boat be gotten up one way or another without much fuss, the other is how easily someone can do more targeted and specific rolls in a given boat such as layback, C to C etc.

About 20 years ago
Mr. Mike Neckar pulled into our parking lot with a trailer full of kayaks. Truck door popped open and out thumped this huge man, pants half way down his rear, big smile, and a few off color explatives about the tight parking lot. It was my first of many meetings.

I’ll never forget his reaction to my comment about my Arluk 11 being easy to roll.

Oh sht, if you know how to fing roll you can roll the Fing Queen Mary…they’re all easy.

That’s beginner sh
t.

He was right. Stop focusing on the boat and just do it…OK. Please. Who’s to say half the responses you’ll get here aren’t from experienced paddlers, but those just learning themselves with an over-focus on things that don’t / should not matter.

Nothing wrong with asking
People just want some perpective on how conducive their boat is to rolling. I don’t see a problem with that.

“Can it be rolled,” and “how conducive is it to rolling” are two seperate questions.