beginner kayak for mouth of rivers?

-- Last Updated: Jun-02-09 7:22 PM EST --

Hi, I need advice and suggestions please on purchasing my first kayak to go birding in mouth of rivers, and lakes, and may be when I feel stronger and have more courage, to out into the sea in the first couple of waves?

I went out to the mouth of smith river for the first time with my friends, they put me in a small 9 foot boat, it was a calm day, but it was not tracking at all. with each stroke it was going left and right. was it me, or the boat?
please give me specific names and models of boats to look at. I am a beginner, and am very petite.

I'd appreciate your help. thanks, caspain

It was you and the boat
9 footers aren’t typically strong at tracking and neither are paddlers who just started kayaking. For the river stuff you could probably be okay with a 12 or 14 foot kayak, but for big water you probably want to look at a real sea kayak for performance and safety. They make several for petite women like the Eliza.

http://www.neckykayaks.com/kayaks/touring/eliza_polymer.shtml

Many others, but a 14 to 16 footer that has a smaller cockpit that you won’t rattle around in is where you might want to start.

jim

thanks, good place to start.
great, I appreciate your time and the tip. caspian

would you suggest a more economical one?
Hi, I checked out Eliza. looks awesome, but the price is beyond my budget at this point.

besides since I am so new at this sport and I don’t know how often i will do it, I am hesitant to put down a couple of thousand dollars to get started.

would you suggest something along the same lines, but more economical?

I am 5 foot tall, and weigh 106 lbs.

thanks, caspian

lessons.
spend a little cash on an intro lesson. well worth the effort and gets you on the right foot…safety, efficiency, knowledge… not bad things to have.

steve

where are you?