Beginner Purchasing A Kayak

Hello Everyone,

I recently took a kayak tour in Boston and am now hooked! I am now interested in purchasing a kayak at a local store but because I am new to this I was wondering if I am making the right decision. A model that has caught my eye is the Future Beach Quantum Kayak. It is a sit inside touring kayak that is 123 inches long and 29 inches wide.

Note* I plan on using this for a good workout in local ponds, lakes, and occasionally the ocean. I was wondering if this particular kayak is ideal for my planned usage.

Thank you so much for any feedback. I appreciate it!

Do the homework before you buy

– Last Updated: Jul-28-12 5:57 PM EST –

It's a $ 500 boat
http://kayaks.coastandkayak.com/l/37/Future-Beach-Quantum-124

http://www.paddling.net/Reviews/showReviews.html?prod=2434

Just as a "cheap" bicycle has limits
- so does a low cost kayak.

It is Short and very Wide - not designed wave actions
LENGTH 123 in - 312 cm
WIDTH 29.5 in - 76 cm

Will it float,yeah - is it "stable" is questionable.
A wave could easily flip it over as it presents
a whole 30 inch profile to the energy of the ocean.
It will "bob" up and a down a lot; and not slice
nicely thru waves or current; it's not efficient.

It IS a Recreational Boat for small inland lakes.
You'll tire quickly doing 10 miles around the
perimeter of a large lake because of its width.

Define "touring" - in your mind, your needs.
Don't completely believe the advertising hype
http://futurebeach.com/index.php/kayaks/quantumtm-124.html

For many of us paddling very long,
skinny width, touring style kayaks,
we steadily move at 4mph + .
An afternoon excursion is often 10 - 15 miles.
This short boat simply won't keep up.

To float around and paddle a bit, yeah its okay.

Yes it is a cheap kayak but I am not looking for anything of high efficiency. I am actually getting it for 300 dollars, Which seems like a steal. If it is a good beginner kayak than I will get it.