Best beginner canoe?

-- Last Updated: Jul-22-09 11:01 PM EST --

I've been canoeing 2-3 times but it's something I really enjoy and want to do more. I've been looking to buy a used canoe because they're cheaper, or maybe buying a new one if it's on the cheaper side. My main concern is stability. I don't care much for speed or manageability right now as I do for it to feel comfortable and not feel like it will turn over so easy. I know all canoes turn over but I'm hoping there are some that feel a little more stable than others, especially since I'm just starting out and want to learn more about it. I've found a used Mad River 16' Explorer Royalex for $450 that I liked but I've read the reviews about it not feeling very stable so I'm worried about that. I also heard that Coleman canoes feel the most stable out of most canoes out there, but I heard they were really heavy. There's a used Coleman for $225. So I'm mainly wondering what's the best canoe for the cheapest price (hopefully less than $500) that will feel the most stable in the water. I would prefer it not to be too heavy, but I could deal. Thanks in advance for the help. Oh, I should probably add I'll be using it on slow rivers/streams, maybe a few calm lakes/ponds. I don't foresee ever using it on whitewater.