Best sea kayaking school anywhere

Would like to get input, opinions and know facts for the best destination sea kayak school. Can be anywhere, us, europe or other. Thanks

my two cents
body boat blade

Otter Bar Lodge

– Last Updated: Apr-02-08 9:31 PM EST –

bar none.

MKC, the Madawaska Kanu Center is also exceptional. having just reread your post, i now see that you said sea kayaking, my apologies...

for that i would say SKILS.ca
destination, Victoria.

guideontheside.ca is good also, especially when his website is fully running...

Maybe.
I know of no better than BodyBoatBlade. They are exceptional.

Of course, I haven’t been everywhere.

But BBB may well be the best.

They’re good
I wouldn’t even dare vote on Best, since I have limited experience with kayaking classes.

But BBB is definitely good.

Very impressive
BBB must be doing something right. The three of you that have recomended them are all about a thousand miles away from them at least, yes?

How have each of you came to learn about them and then end up going there?

BTW, I agree that they are an excellent school, thay have learned from the best, and I know I’m getting old when I’m able to say that i knew them when…

most places I’ve seen
focus on retail, boat rentals, trips, and training. BBB will sell you stuff too, but that’s not their emphasis. Their focus is on skills, and they don’t even offer the usual trips/destinations, a staple for other outfitters in the San Juans. So it’s a different philosophy, a different paradigm.

Then I was really impressed by the student-to-teacher ratio. You work in small groups, and often two or three of them will be present, so the ratio can be as low as 2:1. Plus they’re super friendly. Plus they are generous as instructors; seem to really care. Then there’s their skills. And they focus on fun (lots of games)!

A rare combination. Maybe unique. (The usual caveats about not knowing everywhere else …)

What makes “good”

– Last Updated: Apr-03-08 9:35 AM EST –