Bluehole canoe age

How can you tell the age of a Bluehole canoe? The serial # TBH09968M81A. The model is MGB0167. Does anyone know if it is made of Royalex?

I don’t recall any production Blue Holes
that were not made of Royalex.

Built in 1981…
It’s Royalex.

Bluehole
I am thinking about buying this canoe, but I am a novice. It looks in fairly good shape to me for its age. The bow is worn through on the nose about 7 inches into the foam core. It is missing a thwart. The gunwales look decent and the cane seats are intact. I don’t think the hull is oil canning. I would primarily use as a recreational family boat on calm water. Is it worth $250 based on the description I have given?

doesn’t sound like it
Sounds like a about $150 to me. You’re going to have to put around $100 materials and considerable labor into it. I’d hold out for something in better shape.

No
I agree with Brian. I wouldn’t pay that much, and I like old Blue Holes.

D’accord
I agree It’s an 81 and if worn through into the foam, an ABS boat. Despite my oft mentioned contention that any dry hole in the water is worth $300, this one isn’t, because you’ll need to invest in a bow Bang Plate to make it usable. Maybe a stern one as well?

As I remember, BH came out with a Steve Scarborough designed composite line named Evergreen for, maybe, two years before BH imploded, but there would not have been foam stems.

MIke Galt model B
The MGA and MGB Blue Hole canoes were royalex. The were designed by Mike Galt and were very different from the Blue Hole OCA & OCB and the Steve Scarborough designed tandems. The MGA & MGB were river cruisers according to the old Blue Hole adds. The had angled stems, not recurved like the OCA. The hull had flare thru most of its length and a shallow arch bottom. It did not have the full bow of the OCA and as much rocker. It was a very nice paddling royalex canoe and the “B” variation was wood trimmed by Merrimac canoes.