Can I make my rec kayak safer?

I am new to kayaking and recently purchased a Perception Sundance 12.0. It has very high initial stability, and I never take it out in heavy waves. However, I am wondering how easily I could perform a self-rescue if I accidentally capsized the boat.

I have never tipped the boat over, although I realize it would be wise to practice this under controlled conditions. I’m guessing it would take on a LOT of water. It does have a rear bulkhead, but only a small foam pillar in front. The cockpit is huge (56" x 22") and extends nearly a foot behind the seat back. Because of this, there is not a large, flat deck surface behind the cockpit rim (in front of the rear hatch lid) for installing paddle float rigging. A picture of the boat can be seen at Perception’s website:

www.kayaker.com/new/products/boat.asp?type=recreational&ID=96

I have read that skirts for cockpits this large do not stay on well. Because of this, and given the boat’s 28" width, I don’t think I can depend on being able to stay in cockpit and roll it back upright. If I capsized, would I most likely have to do a wet exit?

I have considered installing a front bulkhead or using an airbag, putting something in the cockpit space behind the seat to displace water, and possibly installing paddle float rigging over the rear hatch lid. I have a bilge pump and a bailing scoop made from a plastic jug. Would these make self-rescue with a paddle float a reasonable option? Are there other things I could do, other than trade the boat in on a sea kayak?

Any advice appreciated!

Pat

White Water Airbags
Stick tape measure as far up the bow as possible and measure back to where your foot pegs are. Also measure across from the pillar to the side of the hull just behind the foot pers. Go find split bow or stern float bags that fit. NRS has them.