Can you go faster on flatwater with a longer kayak paddle?

Hello,

I am a novice to proper kayaking, still maybe I ought to know this but, can a longer paddle be a faster paddle on flatwater? Is the leverage of a longer stroke with more reach, advantageous in a flatwater lake race? Can’t seem to find information about this. Thank you,

Many beginners start with paddles that are too long. My outfitter sold me a 240 cm with my first rec boat. I now use a 230 in the same wide boat. I used a 210 in my surf ski.
A paddle that is too long can over stress your arms and shoulders, especially with a high cadence.
I know I didn’t answer your question, but IMO a properly fitted paddle is your best bet.

For most people, longer paddle would not be faster. Likely actually slower.

When you paddle, you want to pull the blade as parallel to the boat as possible. A longer blade is more likely to not be parallel, but instead paddle an arc stroke out away from the boat.

Support from this is that the professional racing paddlers use relatively short paddles (definitely not long paddles).

No, as above usually slower. One reason is what Peter mentions, too long a paddle tends to start turning the boat a smidge during the stroke. A boat not traveling dead straight is a slow boat.
Also a longer paddle can slow down your cadence, and a lot of speed is in a faster cadence.

Too long of a paddle will hurt your shoulders and wrists over time though.

No, but if you don’t have a wing paddle, get one. You’ll go faster with a wing then with a euro in a race

@JackL said:
No, but if you don’t have a wing paddle, get one. You’ll go faster with a wing then with a euro in a race

I would add that with proper knowlede of the paddle stroke with a wing paddle, you can go faster. I see plenty of people using wings but using the same stroke as they would with a euro (standard) paddle, and would hazard a guess they are no faster than they would be with the euro blade.