canoe

hi i’m new to the canoeing down here in galax virginia and i am looking to buy a canoe for canoing in the new river and over night trips and some of the other rivers around me here and i want to know what would be the best canoe for me it will be me and my wife and 2 dogs(jack russel and shiba inu) most of the time the only class 2 or 3 rapids around here are only like 50 feet long so there ant much down were i’m at i am looking at the 16 ft camper so any information would be appreacated thank you!!

Class 3 rapids?

– Last Updated: Nov-10-09 12:31 PM EST –

I suggest that you get in touch with local outfitters and talk with them about those rapids, and the skills and canoe type that'd get you thru them safely. Or a canoe that'd portage well.

Class 2 rapids in a canoe without skills can be an issue, but class 3 can be a much bigger step up than you seem to think.

What is a shiba inu?

Link here
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shiba_Inu

I also suggest two doggie PFD’s. Neither of these dogs is optimized for floating, it seems.

For your use
Definitely not the Camper. I’m not the one to give you advice about your local (or any class 3) river, but I can tell you from experience that the Camper model - as good as it is for easy rivers - is definitely not the one to choose for class 2&3 rivers.

I’m guessing from your mention of the Camper that you’re not really experienced enough to tackle cl3 yet, but intend to be at some point. Once you achieve that status, the Camper probably won’t keep you happy anyway. But a 16’ or larger Prospector (Nova Craft makes a very stable example) or similar probably would.

I’ve had nearly rank beginners in my NC Prospector who were very comfortable in it on moving flat water right away, yet the boat has what it takes (I am told) to do class 3. I haven’t done more than cl2 with it yet, but I’ve done some of that standing in the boat - so that gives you some idea.

Also…
…I totally agree with Celia.

Canoe Choices