CCS Tundra Tarp

I’m looking to purchase a Tundra Tarp and they offer two options, 1.1oz and 1.9oz fabric. Which to buy?

I asked this question of CCS and got a prompt response but I was wondering what additonal pros and cons might come from those who use a Tundra Tarp.

I’ve chosen the 10’x 12’ size. Any thoughts on size?

I camp out of a canoe and a kayak, mostly in fair weather and I plan to use the tarp for a shelter in a group camp and I want to experiment using the tarp for a sleeping shelter when conditions allow.

Another Option
I’ve never used the CCS model, but I have had an MEC Mantis for several years and it is the most versatile tarp shelter I’ve ever known. It allows set-up with no poles and the height is adjustable from low and wind-shedding to full headroom. Great bit of gear.

The MEC Mantis is interesting
I have no experience with it but it seems to be along the lines of a tarp tent shelter useful in beach situations or in open areas.

I have a 10x14 1.1 CCS silnylon tarp. Its five or six years old and been through many a blow in Canada. Its well sewn and just incredibly versatile. So far I have found about ten ways to string it up. But it does depend more on trees or strung line.

Did you talk to Dan about his Leans? That might be more what you are looking for.

I got the 10x14 for extended trips where its pretty much guaranteed to rain wind and be cold at least once. The large size gives me room to roam under and raise and lower sides as needed.

There is a kind of cool thread on “tarpology” here

http://www.solotripping.com/community/showthread.php?t=3131

The pictures are quite interesting.

I Have the Heavier One
Still lighter than old fashioned tarps. Been very pleased with mine and have several friends whom are equally pleased with their CCS tarps.

http://www.pbase.com/ozarkpaddler/image/124568773

That’s a Clever Setup