Chatham 17 vs Tempest 165

Does anyone have any thoughts about the strengths and weaknesses of these two boats? In the next 2 days I have the chance to upgrade my old Perception Shadow / sealion to a more modern boat with a hull that doesn’t weathercock as bad or need a rudder to turn.

I’m still a novice who hasn’t learned to roll yet at 5’10" and 185 lbs. I’m looking for a fast cruising boat with decent (fun) handling and can carry a few days worth of camping gear. I once had a Pamlico and a Manitou, so I know both companies make quality plastic boats for the price. I do have lower back problems and would like the best lumbar support that is possible with a back band. I kinda wish they had the seat back of the Manitou…

I know the T165 has more rocker, so would it be overall slower? Is the Chatham so low volume that it’s too tight? Why is it so heavy compared to the tempest? I know the Chatham 16 would be a more direct comparison, but my budget is limited and I happened to come across both of these poly boats for roughly the same price used. Any advice would help. Thanks.

speed
don’t focus too much on speed. at the pace most of us paddle it is difficult to tell the difference between a 14 feet kayak and a 17 feet kayak.

this is a good place to start if you want a high level overview of speed and drag theory:

http://www.keelhauler.org/khcc/seakayak.htm

Both good boats
Both the Chatham 17 and the Tempest 165 are good boats. I am 6’ and 180+ and fit comfortably in either boat.

The Tempest 165 feels more playful to me than the Chatham 17, though the Chatham is no log.

Unless you paddle with a group that maintains a pace greater than 4 knots or races, the drag differences are negligible.

Try paddling each and buy the one which makes you smile more.

This is something you have