Choosing a paddle for exercise

I’ve been renting kayaks for a couple of months now and I’m getting ready to buy. I think I know which kayak I want (though suggestions are welcome) but I’m not so sure about the paddle. Most of the guides I’ve read focus on choosing a paddle that allows for extended periods of paddling without fatigue.

I however kayak as much for exercise and physical development as I do for enjoyment and I would like to find a paddle where I can get a good workout in no more than an hour. Should I just get a cheap heavy paddle? I still want to be able to have control and power, I just want something that will still give my arms a workout.

The kayak I’m looking at is this one:

http://www.rei.com/product/800973/advanced-elements-advancedframe-sport-kayak

No reason…

– Last Updated: May-11-12 7:09 PM EST –

No reason to buy a cheap heavy paddle for fitness purposes. A heavy poorly made paddle can cause you to pick up bad habits and can be bad on joints and muscles. I'm not saying you have to buy something high end but it should be at least reasonably balanced and not feel like a boat anchor. There are lots of decent paddles with glass shafts and nylon blades that will work. Others here will recommend brand names. I've been out of the euro paddle loop for a while. Do yourself a favor and sty away from those big clumsy aluminum paddles, They are evil.

If your looking for fitness, then simply paddle a lot but use decent gear. Your experience will be more enjoyable and you will stick with it.

Hmmm…
Perhaps I would be better off picking up a good paddle and just throwing in some sandbags for a bit of extra weight? I just don’t want to have to go out every other day for 5 hours to get a good workout.

I’d reconsider the kayak too