Choosing the right boat

OK, so I’m not looking for anyone to tell me what boat is best for me. I’m not a seasoned pro, but I’m not that dumb.
I’ve been buying different boats and paddling, trying to figure out what checks the most box’s for me and I’m slowly narrowing it down. After deciding I wanted to go the touring / sea kayak route I bought myself a cheap used Dagger Seeker with a rudder and began logging happy hours. I decided something more rigid was what I wanted to try next and bought a 17’ Canadian made high volume fiberglass boat (not sure who makes it). I love the thing and took it camping the first weekend I had it. Paddles nice, doesn’t seem to make much difference when it’s loaded as far as how it paddles on flat water. Great boat. The next week I found a deal on a used Chesapeake 17, and I had to have that pretty wooden boat. I took a couple short test paddles and really liked the feel. The harder chines felt fun and like it could be playful and give me some room to expand and learn.
The first weekend I had this boat I took it camping also. I figured out that the Chesapeake doesn’t haul near as much and even with what I loaded It rode much lowere in the water and the paddling effort was noticeably harder. I think this tells me that I want a high volume boat for most of my paddling since I like going camping. There were 2 - 3 foot swells and wind and I was taking water over the deck, but it never felt like it was in danger of going over, although I did wish I had my regular paddle in my hand instead of my greenland. A bit more power in the stroke might have felt nice.
On to my likes and dislikes and trying to narrow down the search.