cockpit size-functionality-sea kayaks

For a while now I’ve noticed on the mboard a preference for small cockpit sizes when it comes to sea kayaks. What is the thought process behind that- smaller opening so the boat is drier when paddling? when capsized the boat takes longer to fill?

in the ww realm I consider the larger cockpit sizes to be a great innovation that improves safety and functionality yet sea kayaking doesn’t seem to follow suit, or maybe it has and I don’t realize it. Explain how it works (to an inland paddler like myself) who is a complete novice in the salt water environment.

It appears
that it relates to the intention to have your knees and hips tightly linked to the kayak in order to have maximum control. I’m no expert but that’s what I’ve occasionally read.

Frankly, I’m with you on a bigger opening being safer for exit and entry up to a point. Very few sea kayaks have larger cockpits, though.

ahh but the cockpits in ww
boats have evolved into a deeper keyhole shape- thereby you can lock in your knees and upper thighs yet still have space to put your knees together to exit the cockpit. So not only has the size changed in ww boats but the shape has morphed a bit as well. People “lock in” ww playboats and squirts so I don’t think its a control issue.

Functionality
Once the cockpit opening is large enough to allow reasonable ingress and egress, you’ve got to consider the practical size of the spray skirt. Part of the purpose of a sea kayak is to withstand rough water that sometimes will deposit substantial amounts all over the boat. Too large a cockpit would naturally make it much more difficult to have a skirt that wouldn’t implode with the weight of a large wave collapsing on the skirt. The same is true whenever the boat is other than upright.

Smaller cockpit better because…

– Last Updated: Jun-04-16 9:41 AM EST –