Comfortable pfd

Don’t like wearing a PFD but there are occasions that I have to, so I am looking for the most comfortable, least restrictive, least confining vest for hot, humid weather I can find. Is Astral VE- 8 it?

Thanks
mjac

Never tried one but the usual answer for hot weather is get an inflatable. High R-value foam is hot no matter what miracles the marketeers espouse.

1 Like

How reliable are inflatables, are there some brands you have heard off? I would have to have a reliable brand with an inflatable. I read somewhere that when inflated, inflatables make a re-entry hard.

Thanks
mjac

I live in Delaware. It gets pretty hot and humid for my taste. I have been using the NRS C-Vest for the last 10 years:

NRS cVest Mesh Back PFD

It has a lot of mesh and large openings. I never feel sweaty in it, never feel like “I can’t wait to remove this and cool off”. I tend to forget I am wearing it. Works well for me in the hot humid weather we have here and I recommend it and would buy it again, in fact this is my second one.

But I think there are a number that will work for you, and it is best to try them on and see how they fit.

1 Like

This was all recommended to me, NRS was one of the brands and the other recommendation was get into a store and try some stuff on, don’t get fixed on one brand, see how they feel.

Thanks
mjac

2 Likes

I have 2 PFD. I always wear the V8. Comfortable and cool and does the job overboard.

1 Like

Me too…NRS cVest Mesh Back PFD

Also for hot weather wear tech shirt , sleeves and gloves. Get all wet. Use gloves to squeeze water down your shirt . Dip hat in water and replace on head wet. You will be cooler.

4 Likes

I often wear an inflatable while sailing, and have had enough experience with it (I think) to weigh in on the pros and cons.