Cowboy re-entry?

OK, I’m a newbie and proud of it - please explain.

The image I get is of coming up behind your boat and jumping into it, legs on each side.

How the heck does this work?

Val in CT

a couple of essential skills
You gotta be able to have your paddle ready as you crawl your body forward over the cockpit with torso/ head low, just as you can swing your butt down into the seat and your head/torso go up you pick a side to brace towards as you snake your legs in.

1. sculling brace,if you don’t have it you’ll go over.

2. it’s hard with a high aft deck

3. flexible,long enough cockpit,if you can’t pull your legs in the cockpit after plopping your butt down while doing a sculling brace then you’re stuck.

4. If you can’t get some of the water out before getting in then you might as well learn a re-entry and roll as it’ll be easier and more effective in rougher water.

Yep, like a horse

– Last Updated: Dec-02-04 10:56 AM EST –

Yep, that is one way depending on your boat, your weight and your athletic ability. Or , throw a leg over near the stern and jump on. Keep weight low, legs in water and wide is one way and scooch forward. Keyhole cockpits help to drop into and do shorter folks with shorter legs to hop in with.

Some profess the abilitiy to do this in rough seas high winds although most would say not a good idea. Like some other posts about what works and what does in rough water.

If you can do it, it can be real fast especially if one is in cold flat water, up and out. Of course best entry into the other world of kayaking is the roll as kayaks were designed to be stayed in by the artic folks and all methods of getting back in involve more energy and risk of failure, at least as explained to me by most here.

scramble
Go to http://www.useakayak.org/

click on “skill of the month”

then on “scramble recovery”

I haven’t been able to do it yet. I need my old legs back.

Joanne

Not very practical