Down or Fiber-fil

I’m planning to get a sleeping bag for 30 degree nights when I camp on the islands of Maine. I realize the pros/cons of both fills. What is your experience?

Either is good…
…for 30 degree nights, but we have the synthetic just for the fact that you never know when you might get the down one wet, which will make it useless.

Cheers,

JackL

have had both
like the holofil for fact dampness can creep into down. especially with diffrent temps w/ humidity. They both will keep ya warm ,but IMHO holofil or similar fiber is better. I have been camping for the last 17 years year round and not in a pop up camper.

Tent or tarp?
Personally, I prefer down. A cold, wet synthetic-fill bag is not going to be all that cozy, either. The increasesd compressibility and reduced weight of down make it my choice. In my opinion, if things have gotten to point where your sleeping bag has gotten wet (I am not talking damp on the outside from dew/condensation) then you are having a bad trip. I use a down bag (North Face) and have for 24 years (not the same one; they have a usable life of about 10 years before they start to lose their ability to loft repeatedly). On water trips i put it in its own river bag. I use a tarp so I do not have a problem with condensation as I sleep. As either one will d the job, it really comes down (pardon the pun) to a matter of personal preference.

If the trip is long and you may have
weeks of thick maine fog I’d go synthetic. Down is nice and lasts longer but it might get boggy with fog.

Fiber for warm nights like 30
The advantage of fiber-fill that always strikes home for me was the times I got both types wet. One trip my oldest bag, my down bag got wet and the time I got my new fiber bag wet. The fiber bag was dry by the next evening. The down bag dried out a couple of years later (exaggerated for emphasis)(grin).

seattle sports