Dry laptop while solar charging (5 wks)?

How do you keep a laptop dry while charging it it from solar panels for 5-6 weeks?

Situation: I am a teacher teaching 3 courses online while paddling from Chicago to New Orleans this summer stealth camping along the riverside. I need to be online for several hours every day or two. I will be moving at a swift pace, and my time on shore will not be enough during daylight to charge my laptop.

I need to layout my solar panel while paddling, but still keep my laptop safe and dry.

I have some ideas but not happy with any of them…HELP?

Waterproof connections
I’d suggest laying your waterproof solar panels (I assume you’ve already selected one?) out on the kayak deck, then running the power cord through some sort of waterproof fitting in the deck or a hatch cover to the laptop, which would be safely tucked belowdecks.

You may have to rig up your own supply cord, and perhaps even leave it semi-permanently installed in the boat. Here’s a USB cord with waterproof bulkhead fitting: http://www.amazon.com/L-com-Waterproof-Panel-Mount-Cable/dp/B000AA85BG/ref=pd_bxgy_e_text_b

Good luck!

Delphinus

http://www.AquaDynology.com

Several hours per day?
Have you checked to confirm that your solar cell will enable operation of your laptop for several hours per day? This sounds optimistic unless your panel is big and positioned well.

power station
I would have a set of six volts or a small twelve volt battery pack that I kept charged. That way they can charge while the computer is tucked away. Then you can charge the computer at night. It will add some weight but will probably be your best shot. The computer will burn through battery when online. You’ll need a change controller as well.

The power station could be used for phones and bulge pump as well. Just an idea I think it is workable. Pray for sun. I’m not sure the Mississippi will be down by this summer.

Ryan L.

Hardly a realistic goal

– Last Updated: May-04-11 10:33 PM EST –