Dry Tops

I’m new to the sport of whitewater kayaking and am purchasing all my gear. I live in Northern Alabama. I’m trying to decide between a long sleeve dry top, or a short sleeve dry top with attachable sleeves.

Any comments, questions, or thoughts?

Dry or semi-dry?
Anything short-sleeved can’t be a true dry top unless you want to have dangerously limited blood flow to your lower arms and hands. By definition, that’s a semi-dry top. For what it’s worth a lot of people up here like that in the summer with a long sleeved warmer top under it for warmer weather.

How long into the cooler weather would you be paddling? It might help answer the question if people knew that.

short , long, or combination?
Thanks for the reply.

I’d like to paddle all year, which is the reason for considering the short-long sleeve combination dry top (short in the summer, attach sleeves for winter).

Why do you automatically consider a short sleeve a semi-dry top. It has gaskets on the biceps? Doesn’t that make it a dry top?

Alabama weather = brutual summers, mild winters.

Hey neighbor
Here is the Alabama whitewater forums:

http://alabamawhitewater.com/forum/phpBB2/

Try the General forum.

jim

Short sleeve (usually) not fully dry
The only kind of gasket that is reliably really dry if you take a swim is latex, which is too tight to wear that high on your arm. If you have beefy arms and a top with a well-fitting neoprene and thick gasket, like on the IR Sessions short sleeve tops, it’ll be fairly dry if the immersion amounts to a bunch of rolls. If you can’t roll and capsize, the latter being pretty inevitable in WW, the swim you take will challenge the sleeves. It would in flat water, let alone moving stuff.

If the short sleeves are one of those types that have a tab that you close over a neoprene rim, it tends to be less dry.

I’d wager that a more careful look at the description of those short sleeve tops would get you a description of semi-dry rather than dry.

Drytops