DrySuit Relief Zipper thru the crotch?

Hi, I’m thinking of buying a kokatat drysuit that does not have a relief zipper. I would like to have one installed. I’m relatively new to kayaking but I’ve done quite a bit of mountaineering- the very best system for me (female by the way) relief while wearing winter layers and a harness is the through the crotch zipper. Works great for all eventualities. Rainbow zippers are a big thumbs down in my book. I’m wondering why the dry suit manufacturers don’t offer a zipper through the crotch or whether anyone has tried this out?

comfort?
It may be uncomfortable as you would be sitting on it. I have a kokatat suit with the front relief zipper. It’s a bit tricky but I can still manage it. I chose that over the back one as I didn’t want to be sitting on a zipper, I don’t have much padding in that department : )

Sharon

Better alternative

– Last Updated: Mar-29-08 5:37 PM EST –

Get a regular guy's drysuit with the normal relief zipper and have it lowered to accomodate a FUD (female urinary device). Kokatat has a standard distance they use, you just have to give them the general instruction. You may have to specify a distance for other makers, I suspect about 2 inches does it.

A crotch zipper would really not work over a long paddle - you'll get why when you start rolling.

why would rolling affect it?
Can you explain? Why would a crotch zipper be a problem on long paddles? It seems to me that you could use a lady jane with it more easily than the horizontal zippers. I have rolled a boat a few times…how would a crotch zipper cause problems? thanks

Relief Zips
I just returned a women’s Stohlquist drysuit with horizontal relief zip. I do not think they put it low enough. I ordered the next size up, hoping that might solve the problem. I have a front-to-back relief zip on my wetsuit and it is easy to use. I wonder why the drysuit makers can’t or don’t put in a zipper like the one in my NRS farmer-jane wetsuit.

-Nancy

I roll a lot