Effort put into paddling - Less is More?

Why is it that it seems the less effort I put into paddling, it is easier to paddle!?

When I decide to take it easy and go slower I seem to glide effortlessly with my kayak. When I’m putting gusto into it it seems it’s a lot of work and I’m not really going that much faster? (although I’m not sure if I am going slower, or it’s the same, or even faster when I’m paddling slow and steady.)

What is happening?

I’m a beginner kayaker, gone kayaking about 12x, including 2 classes with L.L.Bean.

Your perception is good

– Last Updated: Aug-17-13 5:40 AM EST –

Every boat has a top speed, defined by it's hull shape, dimensions, rigidity and finish. When you approach this top speed, any extra effort is wasted. If you want to go faster than your current boat allows, then, you'll need a longer, skinnier boat (and more rigidity and slickness can help). This is one of the big differences between "recreational" kayaks, and "touring" kayaks, or "sea kayaks".

In seeking a faster boat for YOU, remember that, for each person -- considered the "engine" -- there is also a limit to how much boat you can efficiently push, and it is counter-productive to paddle a boat that is too long. A larger, athletic person can get more out of a 17-foot sea kayak than a smaller, and/or less fit person can.

A 14-footer is a good length for most people to try, and, you can decide if that's a step in the right direction, and, if you may get more out of 15, 16, 17 footers.

Edit: I should also note that shorter boats are more efficient AT GOING SLOW. If you want to relax, and NOT push the limits of your boat, then, you actually work less by paddling a shorter boat. This is one reason many of us end up with several kayaks. I'm taking my 14-footer out today, because I will not need the speed of my 17-footer.

GPS

– Last Updated: Aug-17-13 8:27 AM EST –