elbow tendinitis

I have been kayaking for 6 years and have developed tendinitus in both elbows. My kayak is a touring boat. Has anyone else had this condition? If so what have you done? Any ideas on good paddles for this condition? I really don’t want to live on Vioxx for the rest of my life! Thanks for whatever help you can offer.

Elbows
I lost my elbow pain when I switched to a smaller blade and an ergo shaft (AT Exception). Been concentrating on torso rotation too.

Jim

Lateral epichondilitis
Been thru it with BOTH elbows over the last two+ years. Did the whole gammut of anti-inflammatory/cortisone/PT.

Identify potential causes. I work on computers a good deal and changing the mouse from right hand to left hand had great results. Any repetitive motion can aggravate the condition.

My best results have come from PT and avoidance of certain repetitive motion. I paddle canoes so the motion is different. After doing PT and avoiding (other) repetitive stuff, my right elbow is ok. Still getting past the left.

If you can, see a good orthopaedic Doc. Beyond that pay attention to the little motions.

I’ve not had recurrence due to paddling, it seems to be the small stuff like 'puter work with bad ergonomics.

Hope this helps. I literally feel your pain.

Cheers

Wes

Agree with smaller blade
I developed elbow pain last year using a Toksook that resolved when switched back to my Windswift. Started recently when I was using a really large bladed Double Dutch, again resolved by switching back to the Windswift.

SQUEEZING THE PADDLE TOO TIGHTLY
I had some trouble last year that came from surfing I found I was squeezing the paddle to tightly when trying to control the boat, a compression strap and relaxing my grip cured it.

GRAPE SEED EXTRACT!!!
50-60mg daily. That’s what got rid of mine. Also try a bent shaft paddle, torso rotation, and a looser grip.

Good medicine; damn the doctors and their synthetic chemicals!

Robin

If it’s the same thing…