Epic v7 as first boat ever?

Hello again folks. I’m still doing a lot of research getting ready to purchase kayaks for my wife and myself. We started out looking at mirage drive hobies but quickly have migrated into exploring paddle boats. I really like the price of the epic v7. It looks like a fast boat that would be really fun in our bay. We really want to be able to work our way up to long day trips covering as much as 14 miles but I’m not sure if that would be comfortable in a surf ski. At least thus one has a storage compartment. I understand the learning curve may be steeper jumping right into the surf ski but many reviews say the epic v7 is as stable as you can get. So what do you think about total beginners starting out with v7’s? I can get two for about 600 more dollars than a solo mirage drive! Below I’m going to list some really newbieish questions that I hope can clear up some info I need.

The sit on top design of the v7 would be easier to remount than a sit inside kayak in the event of a capsize correct?

How comfortable will we be in the surf ski on a full day tour? Are they really designed for long distance paddling?

I’ve seen reviews about the soft hatch cover failing and becoming flooded. Forgive my ignorance but how big a issue is this? If the hatch floods can the boat sink? I know thats probably a dumb question to you but like I said, we are really green when it comes to this stuff.

I understand that a pair of epic v7’s probably aren’t ideal for starting out but I would sacrifice having a steeper learning curve to have more fun in the long run. We enjoy the challenge of learning a new hobby. Thanks for any advice over my last few threads. I wish my Ocd would just let me decide already!

Possibly…

– Last Updated: Mar-30-16 6:39 AM EST –

Tell us more about yourselves. Active, fit, age?

You have picked boats far apart in design. I would lean toward the Epic just because the Hobie is a barge.