Extent of Market Interest

I wanted to post under “general advice” where I found “design 101” and “fast designs” – my question is similar but more market/sales related. I am an engineer with many years and patents in the field of Hydrodynamics so feel that I have some technical design credibility. I have been designing and building small custom strip-built woodie boats with electric or gas power. But have become interested in paddle power and would like to do some small scale production – very nice classic full deck designs similar to Chris Craft barrelback boats, yet very light weight. So I might approach a mkt segment interested in class and beauty. At same time I think I have some hull design details which might generate very good speed and ease of getting up onto plane – so I could aim at mkt segment interested in racing (but I doubt that this group would show interest in beauty – in fact in racing it appears that ugly does better in intimidating the competition & thus helps sales. But I can’t visualize this group showing any interest in pure beauty, and of course rules limit any decking to little or none). Is there any buying interest in a good looking fully decked “beauty” with fast speed potential?? Is this the best of both worlds with good sales potential or could it be a combination of interest to no one –

dream on

Check this
www.woodenkayaks.com

Nick might be able to give you some advice.

“ugly” raceboats

– Last Updated: Mar-26-15 9:33 AM EST –

are often they way due to the rules in various classes. Biggest example imo is the "wildwater" kayaks with that huge flared section to meet beam requirements. I have seen canoes with sprits to meet length requirements; ugly as sin, but more maneuverable in tight courses than more traditional looking classmates.