Fastest kayak

Hope this isn’t like a who would win in a fight between Superman and Batman kind of question but here goes…There’s a paddle/race in my neck of the woods and I was debating on which of my boats would be the fastest? The choices are a 16’ 10" fiberglass Current Design Gulfstream, a 16’ 4" Necky Elaho, also fiberglass, or 14’ 4" Stellar S14S made with their composite material. The Necky seems to be the most nimble but the event is pretty much a 12 mile drag race so the slightly heavier Gulfstream might have the momentum. Just curious on what some of you would say, thanks for any input.

1 Like

I confess I have no experience with any of those boats. What I have experienced is that different water and wind conditions favor different boats. Your choice may be dependent on your race-day weather.

Superman would definitely lose if kryptonite was nearby.

1 Like

Go with the Necky!

Your weight?

Sound Rowers Boat Classification gives these scores:
Gulfstream 8.5 (fastest)
Elaho 7.5
Stellar 6.94

I don’t take these scores as definitive at all, but there they are.

1 Like

The absolute fastest boat is the Van Dusen Mohican.

Beyond that longer boats are faster than shorter ones. There are a couple of exceptions, but on the whole that rule works.

Just remember that we are talking waterline length here, not overall length.

I would probably choose one of the boats with a rudder. That way you can just focus on paddling, not on control strokes. I’m assuming the Elaho has a rudder? For me I think it would be a toss up between the Elaho and the Stellar.

3 Likes

The S14S isn’t a particularly fast boat. I have no trouble keeping up with sea kayaks but we don’t race.