First Rec Kayak - Trying to decide

I will be purchasing my first kayak soon. I am looking for a recreational sit in kayak in the 10-12(max)length, price range $600-850. I plan to go demo some soon, but I am new to kayaking and I really don’t know what to expect. I’ve only paddled about three times on an Ocean Scrambler II on a local lake. I’m looking for something stable(not tippy)easy to manuver and that tracks reasonably, even in windy conditions. I plan to use it on calm lakes and slow moving rivers.

I’ve narrowed my choices down to about four kayaks, which are the Necky Manitou Sport, Dagger Element 11.0, Dagger Blackwater(10 or 12 ft)and the Old town Dirigo 106. Based on general knowledge and experience, can anyone tell me which of these boats is the most ideal?

Thanks!

I have a 14’ Dirigo…
And really enjoy it. I can’t speak to the 10’ versions of any of these boats. But, I’ve had people in the 12’ versions of the Dirigos - they all seem to enjoy the boat. Depending on your size, if you’re small - it can be a bit wide and you have to be careful to not hit your knuckles on the sides of the boat. Though, that can usually be ironed out with proper torso rotation when paddling.

I’ve also had people in a 12’ Wilderness Systems Pungo. While I know it wasn’t on your list, the V-hull is seems to help the boat glide better than the Dirigos - but, people find it to be a bit more tipsy feeling than the Dirigos.

I think for what you’re asking - in my opinion, the 12’ would be better suited. The times that I’ve been in a 10’ boat (I’m a big guy, though) and have had people in 10’ boats - they have trouble going straight. There just isn’t much boat to really glide well.

I do very similiar paddling as you and chose to go with a 14’ boat, simply for a bit better tracking. And, the 14’ Dirigo has a larger cockpit - allowing me the flexibility to have my young daughter join me in my kayaking trips.

get a kayak

– Last Updated: Jun-24-08 8:21 PM EST –