Forward stroke: muscle vs. speed

I am a beginner working on my forward stroke (and I think I will be the rest of my life). I am wondering what the best technique would be for times when I really want the most speed from my stroke. Should I concentrate on torso rotation force (i.e. muscle), giving each stroke all the power I can in the longest possible stroke? Or should I instead try to take shorter, faster strokes that have less sheer strength involved and at a higher rate? I expect the answer might be “both”, but I just would like to know other’s opinions.

I use a Euro style paddle, but I noticed once when using a Greenland style paddle that the brute-force-muscle thing seemed less effective.

Related to the first question, I wonder if there is a maximum speed a paddle (of any type) can have before there are diminishing returns on power output. Can a paddle that is pulled through the water too quickly actually be wasting the energy the body puts into it by creating huge eddys and other water disturbances? Thanks in advance for your thoughts.

Lou

Complicated
and I’m no expert. I tend to go back and forth from one stroke to another as needed. I use only a Greenland paddle. Tremendous push and force in a sliding stroke. Slower. Abdominal crunch. Fast non-sliding stroke works best with that paddle type by progressively getting the paddle deeper. I strongly suspect that the resistance of starting a new eddy area at the tip gives increasing resistance as the abdominal rotation comes in. Then relax, the blade pops up, and the other blade goes in. Plenty of arm swing, little elbow move. At a goodly amoung of power input I can go back and forth between the two and don’t notice much speed difference. The sliding stroke is excellent against wind and wave. The low torso twist stroke for calm and complex conditions.

But I don’t know how this works with a Euro type paddle. I haven’t used one of those for a very long time.

There is a Brent Reitz "Forward Stroke"