Foster Legend vs CD Extreme/Solstice GTS

-- Last Updated: Jun-27-12 5:28 PM EST --

Hello everyone.

I've been kayaking for about two years now and I'm wanting to get into more serious kayaking. I have a Current Designs Whistler and I mostly kayak on pretty calm lakes.

Recently I found a 2000 Nigel Foster Legend for sale for $1,000. I wondering if I should go for it or not. Previously I was looking at other Current Design boats such as an Extreme/Nomad or Solstice GTS. I was wondering if anyone can speak on how these three boats would compare speed wise? I go kayaking with a large group of people every week with long sleek kayaks and I want to keep up and be speedy as I can.

UPDATE!!

I bought it. I really like it. It wasn't as unstable as I was expecting and getting into it wasn't all that bad although it was a little tilty when trying to get my legs into the cockpit after I had sat down. The initial stability is definitely lacking and a little turn of the hips with the hard chime likes to take me a little off course. That's something I suspect will fade and it will begin tracking better once I get more paddle time in it. The secondary stability is very nice. I edged it quite a bit during the test paddle to test it out and I felt very secure and didn't fear flipping. Overall I like it and I'm pretty happy with it. Maybe one of these days I'll switch it up with one of the other mentioned boats, but for now I think I'm pretty well set.

How much do you want to turn?

– Last Updated: Jun-26-12 8:10 AM EST –

One maybe two of the mentioned boats, the Extreme and the Legend, take some serious commitment on your edge to turn if you are out in wind or waves. I think the Solstice is ruddered. All are fast enough, but they are a very different issue getting turned around than your present 14'6" transitional CD Whistler.