Good Touring kayak

Hello all,

So I am in the market for a new touring/ sea kayak… I would love some advice from anyone willing to help. First, a little background on my experience. I have been kayaking for about 6 years now, everything from a couple hours fishing on mid-atlantic lakes to multi-day trips in places such as Voyageurs NP, Adirondacks, lake chains in Maine, and numerous Mid-Atlantic rivers. I have a Wilderness Systems Pamlico 140, but I left that in storage with the parents in Pennsylvania. I in Salt Lake City, UT for the summer and work In Charleston, SC for a few during the winter. I am looking for a boat that can take me on some trips to large reserviors in Utah and the southwest and also keep me in good condition in the winter waters of SC. I am also planning a trip to the Florida Keys in December.

I would like a boat with generally good stability, I am not quite proficient in a roll, but plan on practicing. What is difference between skeg and rudder?? I would like to keep less than $2k, but if the right boat is there, I will spend $$. Any help would be appreciated

just a suggestion
Good description of use you want and your skill level but folks will need to know your size to make recommendations (height, weight and shoe size are pretty much requirements to narrow down models.)

Is weight a concern?
If so, it will have to be Kevlar, so I doubt you’ll get anything new under 2.5K.

Other questions - I’m even afraid to answer, it’s a black can of worms with zillion options.

Good stability in bad weather for non-rollers - for average to tall people it’s something at least 24" wide. So you’re are looking for “high volume touring kayak”.

Rudder or skeg… Never ask this question on kayaking forums :slight_smile: … Some hate rudders, some hate even skegs. Skeg is a fin under the hull - sometimes retracting into the hull, like on surfboard only smaller; helps tracking, doesn’t help turning.

comments