GP vs. Euro - The Never Ending Debate

The debate as to which is “better”, I’m not qualified to answer. I also don’t believe there is an answer to this, as they both have pros and cons for different situations and styles. I have limited experience with a GP, and probably compared to many older members here, perhaps limited experience with a Euro blade as well. However, I’m a quick study and am never happy until I’ve mastered something… at which point I need something new to master because it’s lost some thrill, but that’s a different story. :stuck_out_tongue:

I went out with my boat this afternoon with the intention of finding some wind and getting some exercise. When I arrived at the beach, it occurred to me that the conditions and location were excellent for a semi-scientific experiment. I wanted to know how my speed with a Euro paddle compared with a Greenland Paddle. Simple enough, but there are lots of variables involved in answering the question.

Here’s the setup:

• Pick a course between two easily recognizable points on shore, approximately 1km (0.62 miles) apart
  • With each paddle in turn, run the course both up wind and down wind
  • Repeat three times for each paddle
  • Boat is my Impex Assateague with about 280 lbs (myself plus camping gear, but no food)

Variables:

• Wind - Started around 20kt, backing to about 10kt by the last run Averaging three results from both up wind and down wind paddling within a relatively short span of time should nullify any effect.
  • Fatigue - One would expect the last runs to be slower than the first due to tiring out. Alternating each run with a different paddle should result in a slow decrease in speeds but the effect will be spread evenly among the two paddles.