Green River Utah trip

I am planning to do the Green River stretch in Utah in late September. Maybe one half or maybe the entire 100 miles from Ruby Ranch to Spanish Bottom.

I’ll be taking my OT Pack Canoe to carry enough water as I am told that filtering the river is not a good idea.

I’m ordering the Canyonlands Guidebook from REI tomorrow and have printed up the google-earth maps.

Anyone here do that run and have any thoughts, ideas, suggestions or experiences?

I’m not a beginner, nor am I an expert, maybe intermediate or experienced as I’ve done multi-day trips up and down various stretches of the Colorado River and week-long around-the-lake live-from-my-kayak trips so have some experience in this. But never did a 2 week trip on a river that has uranium tailings in the water.

Excellent trip

– Last Updated: Aug-27-14 1:09 PM EST –

I haven't done the whole section you're talking about - only Ruby Ranch to Mineral Bottoms - but its the trip of a lifetime. Every paddler should do it at least once.

Tips:
1) We had very good luck making arrangements/permitting through Tex's Riverways in Moab. They'll supply a groover (required) and clean it (worth a lot right there...), they're equipped to run shuttles on some of those roads running down the cliff sides; in short, they know what they're doing on the Green. This isn't an ad for them, there are others perhaps better suited for raft runs on the Colorado etc., but Tex's was very good for us on the Green.