Greenland Paddles

Can someone tell me more about these paddles?

Are they suitable for a complete novice? Are they suitable with a boat like the impex Assateague?

Love 'Em
Wish someone had introduced me to the Greenland sooner. I wouldn’t have wasted good money on those Euros. Yes, they are absolutely a good thing to start kayaking with. If the Assateague is a long, lean kayak a Greenland paddle will work fine. You can get a custom made GP for a very reasonable price.

GP
I like yhe gp and dont have a boat it is well suited for Necky Arluk IV. I made my paddle from a spruce 2x4 probaby have around 12 bucks total in it. I would try other paddles given a chance but mine seems to work well.

Check this out
Read up on them at www.qajaqusa.org lots of articles on how to use them.

It’s all I use
I started with a Greenland paddle and got my girlfriend a Euro. I’ve tried hers and didn’t care for it so now the only one I use is my GP. For me it gives me the same power and it feels more comfortable. It you can, borrow one. If you have the time, build one. There are plenty of plans on the net if you surf around a little.

GPs are cult classics, with no
place in the modern sea kayaking world :slight_smile:

Well, …
If these were so great, why would not everyone use them???

I think it depends on how/what/where one paddles.

Being a novice and not having tried them - do not immediatley jump happy at me here -:wink: - I simply do not know one way or another. So I’m writing here just to see why are they better.

Have not yet seen a good explanation as to why a Euro is worse either, except for probably cost of the better ones.

I can see GP being useful for a typically low angle high distance paddler. But longer paddles all else being equal, have bigger swing weight for instance so I immediately see one negative (simple physics of momemntum and levers). I see positives as well, for instance for a longer lever for some types of rolling.