have wrong kayak, help with right one

-- Last Updated: Apr-05-09 9:42 PM EST --

I am a beginner. have wanted to get in to paddling for a long time to get on the water, exercise, and just enjoy the wildlife down here. lots of porpoises,turtles,rays..etc in the intracoastal. plenty of creeks and spring rivers also.

got a pretty good paddle to start. aqua bound hybrid/sting ray/carbon shaft. 32oz I think.

boat: got tired of reading about all the diff possibilities and bought an eddyline phoenix. nicely crafted boat, impressive looking. only 1-1.5 years old.

problem: i didn't test paddle it. i sat in it w/o the footbraces adjusted for me. when extended out, my size 11 doesn't fit. my legs are almost flat to fit in the low cockpit height. and it was hell getting my legs in there.

took it out on a windy day on large lake. paddling north. had stiff ne winds blowing. steady lines of 1-2 waves coming in. prob not the best day for first paddle. my body in this boat just didn't fit. it tipped violently back and forth the entire time. including when i was back in the protected cove.

i'm 6-1,36 waist, 33inseam,11 shoe. looking for betting fitting cockpit and much more primary stability. slow roll to the left or right is ok, want to float steady sometimes and enjoy the nature.

that may put me in a rec boat or even a sot. don't know. just want something i can paddle at a fair pace. the more comfortable i am the longer i'll paddle it. i'm not even opposed to a canoe.
thanks for advice!

if you want to learn kayaking
i think you got a decent boat. it takes time to learn new skills. you say you want to paddle at a decent pace.

what shoes do you wear in your boat? theres a lot of difference in room and comfort for me when i wear my boots (tight and cramped feeling) and my booties (lotsa luxurious room) even my teva sandals are too big (size 10) so i bought a pair of size 9 just for paddling.