Helmets

I will be attending a River Rescue class in June, and I need a helmet. I am just beginning to look into the subject, and would like to hear some advice and opinions. Aside from color (I understand that pink is highly recommended) I am interested in issues like:

A) Degree of coverage (ears covered or not)

B) Drainage and/or ventilation holes

C) Fit and fittings (chin straps, etc.)

D) Padding (type, amount, placement)

E) Other considerations of which I am unaware.

I’ll let you know what I finally decide, and why. Thanks, Jeff

Pink?

– Last Updated: May-26-05 7:13 PM EST –

Thats a joke right? I have a Predator. I am pleased with the comfort and the shock absorption is well constructed. They are available with or without drain holes. I prefer drain holes. Remember to take all advice on this board with a grain of salt, I may not be qualified to give you my opinon. :)

You can check out the predator at http://www.predatorhelmets.com/whitewater.html

Any Helmet Is Better Than None!

Hmmm
I know I have an old WWII era ‘steel pot’ down in the garage somewhere…

My recommendation
Definitely get ear coverage. I know it doesn’t look cool but there is no real disadvantage and a definite safety advantage. Avoid plastic (like Pro-Tec). Go with composite instead. Most important, be sure it doesn’t move back on your head when it is struck in the front. Properly fitted there should be no movement at all when you push up and back on the front of the helmet. I recommend the Shred Ready Full Mental Jacket with the H.O.T. Lock retention system. In second place for me is Gath. I have not tried one but others I trust have and recommend it.

comments
although a modified pink skateboarding helmet is wicked cool, if we all got one, there is no way i would ever be able to ever identify sing!

A) Degree of coverage (ears covered or not)

If you’re creeking, you want full coverage (including face) but for playboaters/lower class river runners, it probably isn’t necessary.