HELP ME pick a kayak!!!

-- Last Updated: Apr-09-08 11:46 PM EST --

After kayaking in my inflatable 11 ft Sevylor Tahiti Classic, it's time to sell the inflatable and get a hard shell!!!

but now here's the problem: I can't decide on which one to get!

I'm only tryin' to find a decent beginners kayak at around $250.
I am a college student on a tight budget: not to mention I also drive a Jeep, go rock climbing, caving, mountain biking, and camping. So I spend enough money on enjoying the great outdoors as is.

The two kayaks i've been looking at are:

The Old Town Otter Sport

and

the Victory Blast kayak

I'm leaning towards the Victory kayak because I've read better reviews about it on paddling.net. And it can go on both flat water and class I and II whitewater easily. Not to mention I'll be taking it to state parks and doing some fishing on the yak.
Just FYI: I am 6ft tall and weight around 180lbs.

If y'all have any suggestions or other kayak y'all think I might like let me know!

A Pink Old Town Otter
The Otter is the classic indestructible pumpkinseed boat, and some of the Big Box stores are selling pink ones. The color is so cool I almost bought one. But then I remembered I just sold my old Otters on Craiglist. Do seriously spend a little time looking for used. My first boats were three used Otters I bought at a livery for $150 each, with paddles. I sold them six years later on Craigslist for $200 each, with the same beater paddles.

only problem
It’s very hard to find used kayaks around where I live because most people in the area prefer their bass boats and jet skis. In fact, none of the lakes I’ve been on around here even had other people kayaking on there.

But I will definitely keep my eyes open for any used kayaks. :slight_smile:

gear…
do you have money for a paddle, pfd, some type of splash gear? It’s nice to have at least a couple of small dry bags as well. Not to also mention a bilge pump and paddle float.

Gear that I have…