high stability vs low stability

I own a perception avatar and a cd sirocco. The sirocco feels pretty unstable. While the avatar feels pretty stable. They both turn about the same. The avatar feels a little faster. So what I want to know is why you would chose an low stability kayak over something pretty stable if all else were equal. I'm a newbie so I keep telling myself that one day I will understand the sirocco's design. Maybe even be glad I bought it. I know! I should of paddled before I bought.

What kind of stability
This is something that, until you start doing more off balance stuff like rolling, or go out into waves, is not very clear. But there are two kinds of stability, and in a boat like the Sirrocco you can’t talk about just one because it is intended to be a boat for waves and such conditions. I am not familiar with the Avatar.

Primary stability is how wiggly the boat gets when it is sitting in flat water. Secondary stability is how well the boat tends to return to an upright position once it tipped over a bit onto its side.

Since waves make a boat roll up and down side to side, a boat like the Sirrocco is designed to have stronger secondary stability. That means it’ll get to a certain point tipped over on its side and try to return to an upright position rather than go all the way over.

In waves, primary stability is of at best limited value because the boat is spending most of its time tipped to one side or the other. When you want to stop and take a photo of birds in a calmer situation however, you probably want a boat with high primary stability that’ll stay put while you dig the camera out of your day hatch and focus the shot.