How does one know their experience level

I have no idea if I’m a beginner or intermediate. Is there a skill set somewhere that can assess where I’m at?

BCU, ACA, etc…

– Last Updated: Apr-04-05 11:07 AM EST –

There was a thread recently discussing this. A search of the archive should find it. You will find both significant agreement and disagrement regarding how to assess level. Experience and skill levels are often different. I am glad that pnet asks for experience level.

Both the British Canoe Union (BCU) and the American Canoe Association (ACA) have requirements for certification at certain skill levels. The BCU assessment includes experience. I do not know if the ACA does.

Atlantic Kayak Tours (www.atlantickayaktours.com) has pretty detailed information on levels, as does Maine Island Kayak Company(www.maineislandkayak.com).

Compared to what

– Last Updated: Apr-04-05 12:28 PM EST –

do you do white water. lakes or sea .

Is a guy who has been paddling large lakes for 20 years and never leaves the shore by more than 1/2 mile but can put in 30 mile days one after another a beginner? What if he cannot do a sweep turn and is rudder dependent. What is his only rescue is a paddle float rescue and he needs a sling to do that.

What about a gal who has beeen kayaking the ocean for two years but has a 50% roll, knows one end of a chart from another but has never navigated in fog?

Even though a paddler has good technical skills after three years of paddling (surf skills, considerable big water experience, fancy technical moves, navigation skills, 99% roll etc, he is not the same paddler as a person who has faced the same big conditions 100 times more often. the more experienced paddler may not even have as many technical skills but their big conditions experience will help them be more calm when things are gnarly.