How helpful are wet suits in cooler water

I am fairly new in kayaking and I want to take this moment in time to ask a relatively stupid but serious question.how helpful are wet suits if a person takes a notion to go kayaking in cooler water temps

No question is stupid and yours especially not. What’s the water temperature? That matters.

The water temps I am gonna say around 40 to 50 degrees approx possibly a few degrees cooler but not by much

Thank you for reassuring me that my question is not stupid.i am in in virginia I’ll f that helps clarify water temp

Wet suit can make a huge difference.

First, in 40-50F water, if you go over and aren’t wearing any thermal protection, you will go through 3 stages (with time estimates):

1. in first seconds/minute or so, you may have a gasp reflex. You need to control your breath, or you might swallow a lot of water and possibly drown outright.
  2. you will have something between 10 and 30 minutes of use of your arms and legs. The body’s response to cooling down is to keep the warm blood in the core, which means it doesn’t send it to arms and legs. This causes you to not be able to use arms and legs.
  3. you will have 1 to 4 hours before you will succumb to hypothermia (assuming you are wearing a PFD, if not you will likely drown after stage 2 kicks in)

Having any thermal protection extends times for 2 and 3 (not sure about for 1, the gasp reflex). A wet suit made for paddling could possibly nearly double these times.

The standard wet suits used by paddlers are farmer john style, usually 2 or 3 mm neoprene. Wet suits aren’t good at keeping one warm in wind, so adding a paddling jacket over it is common.

Note - at temps like you are talking, many prefer a dry suit over wet suit. But dry suits are rather expensive.

Here is a site that can give you some current and average coastal water temperatures in your area: https://www.nodc.noaa.gov/dsdt/cwtg/satl.html

6 Likes