I need a quick moving rec kayak

I need a quick moving, inexpensive recreational Kayak that can handle small rapids. I have a Necky Sky but it plows through the water instead of slicing through it.

Who dosen’t?
If you find one let me know :slight_smile:

Hee-hee… What Olkole is trying to say
is that no boat does everything. Not sure what you mean by saying your present boat “plows” through the water instead of “slicing” when the idea of whitewater suitability is included (I looked at your profile and saw the question you had listed there too). True whitewater boats are pretty useless in anything except big whitewater, so I’m sure an actual whitewater boat is not what you want. There should be LOTS of rec boats that are “fairly” quick and responsive, and suitable for light whitewater. I’ve no personal experience with kayaks, but the Loon 113 and the 14-foot Pungo always come up as suitable candidates when a question like this is posted. I’ve seen both boats in action, and for rec boats, they move along pretty nicely.

whitewater rec??? nope
the Pamlico 100 is a 10’ boat that cuts thru the water fairly well but…it ain’t a whitewater boat.

a good whitewater boat will be a real slapper and NOT cut thru.

before you even think of running current and whitewater take some serious lessons.

steve

The question was about “small” rapids

– Last Updated: Apr-02-05 11:38 PM EST –

Who takes lessons to run Class I? Maybe that doesn't count as rapids to you, but that's what I think of when I think of "small rapids". I think you should lighten up a bit. I see people run Class-I and II rapids in everything from Loon 111s to Jon boats to Jenson racing canoes, with skill levels as low as "first time on the water", and I've yet to see something happen that posed the slightest danger. I'm not saying nothing bad could ever happen, but the chances of anything dangerous happening in Class-I are usually less than the chances of being struck by lightning.