Indecisive Australian newbie needs help

Hello from Australia!

I am a total noob in hardshell kayaks. I have a couple of Gumotex/Innova inflatables that I’ve been using for ten years.
Two months ago I bought a Dagger Catalyst 12.8 on a whim for cheap and love it!

I now want a bigger and faster kayak but can’t make up my mind.

A bit of background. I’m 175 pounds and 5’10. My kayaking almost exclusively involves flooded river valleys, mangrove swamps, lakes but not much sea. I’m in Sydney so there are a lot of harbour/river options. No rapids.

There are three boats I have the opportunity to buy with my budget.

1, Riot Edge 14.5 plastic version, brand new

2, WS Tsunami 145, 2nd hand but still has the stickers from the shop on it.

3, Prijon Seayak from 2004, well looked after and in good condition.

I like the look of the seayak the most but probably overkill? The Tsunami is nice but is it boring to paddle? The Riot edge looks speedy?

It’s mainly for weekly car top day trips by myself and overnight trips.

I’m assuming that all three will be better than the Dagger for both tracking and speed.

No plans to go to sea yet but the option would be nice.

If anyone has any experience with any of these boats and can recommend(or not) any of them for my type of paddling your advise would be greatly appreciated.

Great forum btw, all the kayak forums down here are obsessed with fishing.

Cheers,

Pete

I can’t answer your question, but Welcome! You will get good advice here.

If I were you, I would keep looking. There’s got to be a lot more to choose from in your area. Don’t settle for something that doesn’t get your ticker going–just looking at it.

I’m about your size. The boats that get my motor running are a Dagger Alchemy (smaller) and a WS Tempest 165. Both boats have the seat moved back. Go rent or borrow or demo a bunch of boats.

Thanks for the replies everyone. The Alchemy is one that I was interested in, just doesn’t seem to be any 2nd hand ones available.