Iowa new bee

Hello
I am just getting started in Kayaking. I bought a new Kestral 140X and I am super excited to go out on the Iowa river and explore.
I grew up on the Chesapeake bay and have lots of experience with sail boats and crew racing shells . But I have never had a kayak. This is going to be a total learning experience.

Enjoy. Suggest you link up with a kayak club. Google " kayak Cubs Iowa" or check out paddle.com kayak clubs.

Welcome and congratulations!

Easiest way to start is by signing up for a lesson on the fundamentals.

Have a great time on your journey!

I looked into the clubs. Most are a little ways away. I am going to start on the easy areas near home. I have spent a great deal of time over winter reading a lot about the fundamentals of paddling and safety.
I also did a huge amount of study to purchase a kayak.

I am looking forward to photography and bird watching along the rivers in Iowa. Maybe take a long trip down to the Mississippi. But that is for later. Right now I’m just waiting for nice weather and a break from work.

I don’t know where you are in Iowa, but when I went to school there I found rivers to be a sanctuary from what otherwise was an endless expanse of corn and soybean fields. In a state for which most areas seem to be 100-percent farm fields, it’s amazing how wild and unspoiled things look from vantage point of so many of the rivers. Happy paddling.

Lot of good information on the Iowa Water Trails site. http://iowawatertrails.org
David

I am in Iowa city