kayak camping, the right gear?

Question: Are there any disadvantages (other than speed) in using a recreational hull for the follwoing trip?

I am planning a portage free trip to the BWCA. We will be starting from the Western end of Lac La Croix and will follow the U.S. side all the way to Bottle portage, where we will be picked up by an outfitter and towed back to Crane Lake. It will be a follow-the-shoreline, paddle-when-calm, wind-at-our-back:), warm-water-August trip. We will be out 7 days.

I will be with another adult, an 11 year old, 12 year old, and two 14 yos. Each of us in our own boat. I am paddling my wenonah solo canoe, and we have two Old Town Loons, (a solo and a tandem. We will be renting, borrowing or begging three more boats.

I find the loons very stable and the kids like paddling them. I am a novice kayaker having spent all my on water time in canoes.

Any suggestions would be appreciated!

Kayak camping, the right gear?
I have read and reread your post, trying to figure out what your real question is, and I am still not sure!!!

You say 7 days, but how many miles will have to be covered per day? How much gear will need to be carried? Which would determing space and weight consideration of gear, and load capacity of boat, and paddling capability of each person to paddle loaded boat. What is performance characteristic of the chosen boats when loaded?

You ask about disadvantages of a particular hull design other than speed, when planning a 7 day trip with two adult, and 4 youth. If I assume, that the others are not accomplished paddlers, adult or youth, whether in canoe or kayak, they probably need low performance (slow and Stable) boats. They probably would not be able to take advantage of a faster hull design or appreciate higher performance or load capacity.