Kayak for expedition - need help

-- Last Updated: Feb-07-08 1:58 AM EST --

Hey guys

I'm planning a trip this spring (May/June) to paddle the length of the west coast of Vancouver island (Port Hardy to Victoria) and I'm looking for a kayak to suit this (and future) expeditions/trips.

I've been looking around the threads on this forum, as well as doing some research on my own, but to be honest, I find I'm more confused compared to when I started! I need some help...

I know 'skill level' is a very relative term but I guess I would call myself an intermediate paddler; I've been kayaking for about 3 years now, comfortable in surf and open water, comfortable with both skeg and rudder boats.

I'm 6 feet and 180 pounds.

Due to the fact that I don't own a car, up to now I've been renting boats for all my trips; I paddled boats ranging from Looksha IV in plastic, CD Storm, Nimbus Telkwa Sports, Chilco, Tempest 180Pro.

With the Tempest 180 I did a two week trip exploring Clayoquot sound; I surfed in it, paddled through some rough seas, and I'd say that it felt very good. The Telkwa Sports was another high volume boat that I really liked; it was a tad more 'twitchy' in its primary stability compared to the Tempest, but the maneuverability and quality were excellent. Unfortunately I did not get to paddle the Telkwa in the same rough conditions or surf as the Tempest, so I am unable to comment on the handling.

So regarding the boat I'm hoping to get for this trip, there are a few limiting factors: the main one being the fact that I'm on a rather limited budget and hoping to find a good deal on a used boat. This means it'll either be a new plastic or a used glass boat. Another one is obviously the need for a relatively large storage volume required for such a trip and for the boat to handle well in rough water.