Kayak selection advice- small paddler

-- Last Updated: Mar-15-06 9:57 PM EST --

I never thought I'd ask for advice but I sat in so many nice kayaks at Canoecopia that I am having issues with differentiation.

I am 5'9" and 150 lbs. and 55 years old with a size 9 shoe, a 30" waist and a 30-31" inseam. I have been paddling for less than two years.

I am rough on yaks. Cost is not a factor. I like to cruise at 4 MPH for 10 to 20 mile runs. I like both quiet water and the textured water of Lake Michigan.

I am leaning towards:

Capella 160- it fits. Uses good plastic and appears versatile. I am concerned it is a bit slower than other potential choices.

WS Tempest 165- Seems to have some speed. Fits me better than the Capella. Doesn't appear to have the same quality as the Capella- plastic, bulkheads, etc.

Other intriguing yaks are the Nordkapp LV and the Capella 163 in composite which fits similarly to the 160 RM which is (depending on who measures it) 16'2 or 16'4". However, I'm leaning a bit towards plastic this time if there is no major sacrifice in performance.

The QCC600 is lurking in the corners of my mind.

I will not demo, demo demo. I will use available info and buy a yak based on comfort, specs and features and take my chances and make it work.

Call me stupid but I may order one next week to have for the start of Spring.

Any major positive or negative comments on any of the aforementioned yaks would be much appreciated.

Wait until Arpil 1 and demo some at
Rutabaga. That’s only a two week wait. You can do it.

Tempest is available in composite
I have a rotomold 165 and love it. Haven’t had any problems with it, and the plastic looks fine. Hull is straight, no warpage anywhere, unlike another rotomold I used to own.

Though I think highly of the T165, I wonder why you are in such a rush? You only mentioned paddling two models, not exactly a large sample.

Aloha Bruce, another choice.
Mermaid is coming this spring.