Kayak upgrade dilemma

I have been paddling flatwater for a couple of years in a Loon 138. It has been a fine boat to this point. I want to upgrade to a boat with a litle better performance and better storage. I plan to paddle primarily local rivers, lakes and occasional harbor with some 1-2 night campouts. I am 5’9" 220lbs. I am intrigued by the ocean but feel it is probably a year or 2 away before it gets serious. I live south of Boston in a coastal town. My dilemma is do I get a transitional kayak like the Tsunami, Carolina or Dagger Specter or do I bite the bullet now and get into the Eclipse, Exodus or Capella size. There is about a $500 difference in these. If I do go bigger, I still want to do the slow rivers and lakes. I plan to demo these boats of course. How much big water can the smaller boats handle and will these larger boats be ok in small water?

Any thoughts would be welcome.

Unless…
You’re talking about some of those really small winding tidal creeks down the Cape, the large boats are perfectly fine for rivers, ponds and lakes. Certainly better for the ocean which you seem to be pointing towards at some point in the future. Bite the bullet and spend the extra 400-500 now. It’ll save in the future. I know firsthand, though I moved up much quicker than you are pacing yourself.

sing

Go big
You will love the performance of the sea kayaks and they will be fine on small rivers and large creeks. I have a glass Perception Shadow and wanted a poly boat to take on the rock-infested local waterways so I snagged a Wilderness Systems Tempest 170 (17’x 22"). I contemplated a shorter boat to have manuverability but I’m glad I got the speedier 17 footer. You will learn how to manuver with practice. I run the Tempest on flat-class 1-2 rivers but I have a whitewater boat for anything more gnarly.

Go big & keep the Loon