Kayaking Gloves: This massage therapist cannot get blisters

Hi!
Just beginning my second season. First day out, kayaked 10 miles and got blisters. Ugh.
As a massage therapist, I cannot afford blisters, and even more so calluses.

Can anyone recommend a kayaking glove? Preferably fingerless.

Thanks!

1 Like

I feel your pain. I always get blisters if I paddle without gloves - guess I’m just a delicate flower. I have three different versions of NRS gloves, two of which are fingerless. They all work well. One is a bit more substantial than the other - one is more summerweight. Even bike gloves would work, but they probably tend to soak up more water.

I think my real problem is that I tend to have a slight grip of death on the shaft, which I continue to try to work on.

1 Like

My wife wears NRS Womens boaters gloves and is very happy with them, she’s one her second pair. These gloves also happen to be the only ones that she could find that fit her hand well, they are not puffy in the palm.

3 Likes

I’ve always found that gloves give me blisters but was recently loaned a pair of NRS Skelton gloves for sun protection and I was pleased with them.

As someone mentioned the “paddle death grip” above - do make sure that your technique is good (no strangling that paddle!), and a lighter paddle may also help. The gloves aren’t a cure all.

Also note that I paddle a LOT (500+ miles this year so far) and I have very minimal calluses. Technique, technique, technique.

3 Likes

I have a light weight NRS fingerless glove I use paddling. I like fingerless gloves. I use sailing gloves to protect my hands from handling the sheets/lines (rope) while sailing. I ordered these a year ago and have been pleased. They are fingerless only on the thumb and forefinger. They were less expensive than the more well-known sailing brands but have held up well so far. I don’t know how the different sizes will work for you. the XL just fit me. I have large hands.