Keeping a fishing kayak attached to the top of the car

I’m new to kayaking, just getting into it. I suck at fishing! But I know that once I’m out on a body of water I’m going to want to drown some worms. So, decided on a fishing kayak.

My question is if anyone has any advice on the best mode of roof top carry. Not having any experience, it seems like most options aren’t really that great for the bigger, boxier fishing kayaks.

My GMC Terrain has rails and (now) Malone crossbars. Which are, due to the rails, only 24 inches apart. I’ve looked at the J-hook and saddle style carriers, as well as just setting it on padded bars. Honestly, I’d probably have picked up the new kayak by now if I wasn’t over thinking the transportation aspect.

All advice appreciated.

Kurt

Perhaps you could use something line Malone’s Channel Loader. The suction cups attach to your back window, then you lift the front into position and shove your boat from the stern into saddles on your crossbars.Lots of images available on Malone’s site and elsewhere on the 'net.

This wouldn’t work for me because my 4Runner has a nearly vertical rear window an a wind deflector that sticks way out over it. Hence, I have not tried this or any of the other suction cup alternatives. Maybe others can offer real experience based on vehicles more similar to your Terrain.

It would help if we knew what kind of fishing kayak you were planning on getting. Also how you plan on outfitting it for fishing and what you will be attaching or leaving attached for fishing.

Around here many use SOT kayaks for fishing and find they need to add additional stabilizers in the form of DIY pontoons when fishing. Others like sit inside rec-kayaks made for fishing. We have such a kayak it is an Old-Town 10 footer. You sit lower than a SOT and in sitting lower have more stability when you have your paddle stowed while fishing.