Knowledgeable advice needed

I am a beginner looking for a new boat. One year ago I bought 4 boats (for the family) after 50 hours of research and thought I made good choices. I out grew my boats in a week. The reviews here (or anywhere else for that matter) are almost worthless. One of my boats is an America 13.5. There are 40 reviews for this boat here and all but one of the reviews gave it an 8 to 10 out of ten. This boat sucks and got great reviews: It seems that people are reviewing there love of kayaking, not their love of the boat. The results for the Acadia II are exactly the same: great reviews, crappy boat. Naturally, I am only really familiar with Perception, Dagger, and Wilderness System boats, as they are readily available. I am looking for suggestions on boats to research from people who have actually paddled them AND other boats. I am very interested in a low volume touring boat, as we do not do any extended trips. Most common conditions are lakes with 2-4’ waves, and sand/rock bottom, but also paddle Lakes Superior and Michigan. I like the durability and price of plastic, but could be convinced to go to something like Airalite. Two of the boats I am considering are the WS Tempest 170, which fits me extremely well, and the Eclipse 17. I don’t like the hatches on the tempest, and the eclipse is a bit bulky. Any advice at all will be appreciated.

go with the…
Temp…oh heck…whatever YOU like.

The Eclipse IS bulky and handles COMPLETELY different than the Tempest.

soundz like you need to GO PADDLIN! then decide.

steve

Go demo the boats!
Well, as you just stated, what works for someone else may not work for you. On that note, I don’t see why you are even asking for advice, based on how your purchases have gone in the past and how you say that every boat that people gave positive reviews has, in your mind, “sucked.” The only solution seems for you to actually go demo the boats that interest you and then make a purchase based on your discoveries.

WOW