Length of Kayak 12 or 14?

I am a beginner paddler possibly interested in the Wilderness Systems Tsunami series. Thought the duralite version would be good for me since I am a woman and need to get this on my car.

Can’t decide between the 12 foot or 14 foot versions? Looking to kayak on rivers and lakes. I belong to a kayak club and will need to keep up the pace with my fellow paddlers. I am leaning towards the longer version but am concerned about the handling of it. Any advise???

I advise getting the 14.
I think you will be happier with it and go faster than the 12.

Cheers,

jackL

You’ll get used to it
If it’s the stability thing, you’ll get used to it very fast. Longer will be a lot easier for you to use with a group, and you may find it to be a more capabale boat when you want to go for skills.

When I started
I thought I wanted a short kayak but the more I tried ones >16 ft the more I liked them and the less I liked shorter ones. Just felt better balanced between tracking and turning.

For lakes , get a 16 footer or better
if you want to keep up. Save the 12 footer for creeks and chillin’.

Just paddled my 12.5 footer
at a club outing with 14, 15, and 16 foot boats. Had no trouble keeping up. In fact I led most of the way, and didn’t break a sweat. And I’m of average fitness. Someone will undoubtedly correct me on this, but I think the “longer equals faster” assertion is technically true, but not real world true. All other things being equal (beam, material) longer boats are heavier boats, and therefore require more muscle to move. Put two equally athletic racers in different length boats, and the longer boat will win, because at all-out speed, longer has a higher max potential speed.

But I don’t think this holds for the effort being put forth in a social club paddle. I think the paddlers of the longer, heavier boats are exerting more energy to move their boats, but their boats aren’t going any faster. (This is assuming equal beams for all boats.)