Lewis Lake and Shoshone Lake in Yellowstone - Recommendations & Guidebooks?

Hi all - I am planning a trip to Yellowstone on the last week of August this summer. I have my backcountry permits for campsites on Shoshone Lake (3 days 2 nights). I have read a number of accounts for this general trip on this forum and others.

My question is - can anyone recommend a guidebook that has any info on paddling these lakes & others in the region (also visiting Green River Lakes in WY)? I have read a number of Blog posts, but looking for something with more detail on route recommendations, thing to see along the way, general ā€˜watchoutsā€™ (besides pop-up winds/storms & cold water).

My background is mainly in whitewater kayaking. We have drysuits & have done some recreational kayaking on Lake Superior & Lake Champlain, but not overnight. We will be paddling 2 solo inflatable touring kayaks - Advanced Elements Expedition Elite. Any comments on those boats are welcome as well.

Thanks in advance for any help that you can give me.

Craig

Iā€™m no expert, but did the Lewis -Shoshone trip once. It was July. I didnā€™t go swimming, but walked up the river with my boat in tow, and I donā€™t recall the water being bone-chilling cold. Did not use drysuit.

Canā€™t help with the guidebook question.

Three recommendations:

1. good water shoes and a hiking stick for walking up the river
  2. Have 30 - 40 feet of rope for throwing over the bars where you hang your food.
  3. Bring a trail map and find the trails through the geothermal features at the end of the lake.

Have you tested these kayaks loaded on windy lakes? A 13ā€™ inflatable with a 32" beam and no skeg would not be my first choice for high altitude western lakes with up to 12 miles of reach. I do have a similar boat in my fleet (a 12ā€™ by 29" Pakboat Puffin) so I know how this size and shape acts in conditions, especially when heavily loaded.